What IGCSE Stands For ?

It stands for ( international general certificate of secondary education)


What makes IGCSE different than any other secondary education?

IGCSE (International General Certificate for Secondary Education) is the world’s most popular international qualifications for high school students. IGCSE is not only limited to examining the candidates on what they’ve learnt throughout the year, but it expands their knowledge through deep understanding rather than memorizing, and practicing a wider variety of questions which are based on the students’ perceiving, comprehending and relating those questions with what they have learnt throughout the course.


I am a National Student Can I Join IGCSE Directly ?

Yes, you can. But Care if you are in Secondary 2 Student in National System, you will start From Secondary 1 not from Secondary 2.


Do Egyptian Universities Accept IGCSE?

The Egyptian universities accepts the IGSCE and not the GCSE since 1992. So all Egyptian schools here teach the IGSCE and not the Old GCSE


What are the various types of assessments present in the exams?

Assessments differ according to the subject, they range from written to oral tests, as well as practical exams and coursework.


What are the subjects available?

You can choose from more than 70 different subjects – from mathematics to English. Your choice of subjects depend on which University and faculty and in which country you are applying into.


What is the difference between IGCSEs and GCSEs?

Exams are served through two main exam boards, either CIE (Cambridge International Examinations) which offer IGCSEs or the Pearson Edexcel which offer the GCSEs. Their syllabuses differ to some extent, for example, Edexcel Science Advanced Structured papers do not include a practical paper -which some students prefer- while Cambridge’s exams do. They are both served during 2 months in the year, IGCSEs in May/June and October/November, and GCSEs in January and May/June.

Explaining the curricula:

IGCSEs offer 2 levels of exams, the Ordinary Level (referred to as O-Level) and the Advanced Level (A-Level). The OL offers the basics of a particular subject, you will notice that you may have heard of some of the contents in middle school. The Advanced Level which is divided into two sublevels, the Advanced Structured papers (AS) and the Advanced level 2 (A2), is a much deeper study of the subject. You can take the AS papers without taking the A2, or you can take both and have an AL, but you can not take A2 without AS.


Why A-Levels?

As mentioned earlier, A-Levels are a deeper study of the subject. In some universities, the A-Levels are being taught during 1st 1-2 years of the study. A-Levels will help set your mind on what you want to study in university through exploring the subjects you love. However, do take into account the big jump between O-Levels and A-Levels.


Ability Range:

The IGCSE/International GCSE “core” curriculum is suitable for students who expect to achieve grades C to G. An “extended” curriculum offers more challenging content for students aiming for grades A to C. Take into account which one is required in the country and university you are applying into.


Assessments and grades:

All candidates’ assessments are held centrally in UK. Final grades are dependent on the session’s “curve”. The curve depends on the exam and the academic level of the students sitting for the exam. For example, the A-grade may range from 30-40/40 in June’11 while in June’12 of the same paper in the same subject, it may range from 25-40/40; which only reflects the academic level of the students who sat for that paper/ subject in each session.